About PQ

The Political Quarterly publishes analysis, insight and informed opinion on politics and public policy in the UK and globally. It aims to provide access to current academic debates and draw on critical intellectual arguments, but its hallmark is the use of plain English, avoiding theoretical and technical jargon. It is run by an independent editorial board and currently published by Wiley Blackwell. As well as the journal, the Political Quarterly publishes books, organises political debates and events and sponsors the prestigious Orwell Prize for political writing. The Political Quarterly is broadly centre-left in outlook, but publishes a wide range of authors and viewpoints. The current editors are Deborah Mabbett and Ben Jackson.

Deborah Mabbett
Ben Jackson

The Political Quarterly was founded in 1930 by Leonard Woolf, Kingsley Martin and William Robson. Past editors include Bernard Crick, David Marquand, Andrew Gamble and Michael Jacobs. Past writers for the journal include political thinkers such as John Maynard Keynes, Arthur Koestler, Harold Laski, Bertrand Russell, Leon Trotsky, William Beveridge, Ernest Gellner, Richard Hoggart and Raymond Williams.

Editorial Board


Deborah MabbettDepartment of Politics, Birkbeck University of London, 
Malet Street, Bloomsbury, London, WC1E 7HX

Ben Jackson. History Faculty, University College, University of Oxford, High Street, Oxford, OX1 4BH

Literary Editor (for Reviews)
Donald Sassoon, 108 New River Head, 173 Rosebery Avenue, London, EC1R 4UR

Reports and Surveys Editor
Wyn Grant, Professor of Politics, University of Warwick

Special Sections Editor
Anna Killick

Editors of the PQ Blog 
Anya Pearson
David Sanders

Social Media and Events Editor
Anya Pearson

Company Secretary and Assistant Editor
Clare Dekker

Managing Editor
Emma Anderson