Thursday, 15 June 2017

Crick Prize for Best Article 2016

The Political Quarterly is delighted to announce the prize winners for the Crick Prize for Best Piece.

Sukhdev Johal, Michael Moran and Karel Williams have won the prize for their article ‘Breaking the Constitutional Silence: the Public Services Industry and Government.' The authors have received their prize money of £1000 to be shared and the article has been made free for a month. You can read the article here.

The authors write:

"It’s an honour to receive the Political Quarterly prize for best article of 2016, in particular because of the association with Bernard Crick, a great editor and a great public intellectual. The paper tries to carry out the most important role of the public intellectual: to use the evidence and insights of dispassionate inquiry to throw light on a policy problem. In this case the problem is one of neglect: the absence of any attempt to incorporate the great power of the corporation into the constitution of the UK. Our work is part of a larger body of continuing research and advocacy on the Foundational Economy carried out with colleagues from a wide range of institutions in the UK and abroad."

Michael Moran, Sukhdev Johal and Karel Williams.

Tuesday, 6 June 2017

Reading the British General Elections. Archive articles since 1931

The Political Quarterly is delighted to present a virtual issue collecting together articles on British elections and their implications, stretching all the way back to our first general election in 1931. At a time of instant opinion and excited claims of electoral novelty, we hope you will take a few moments to look at the ebb and flow of British political life in a longer historical perspective. Revisiting this historical context of contemporary British politics shows us more precisely how British politics has—and has not—changed over the last few years.

You can read the collection with articles by Sidney Webb (1932), R B McCallum (1932), Harold J Laski (1936) Peter G Richards (1945 and 1950) Arthur Butler (1959), J Enoch Powell (1959), Nicholas Deakin and Jenny Bourne (1970), William Rodgers (1979), David Howell (1983), Samuel H Beer (1997), Peter Riddell (2005), Peter Kellner (July 2005), Tim Bale (2011) and Tony Wright (2015) here.

Ben Jackson and Deborah Mabbett